Mechanical College Awards 2016: Nominations now open!

If someone you know is a mechanical engineer who deserves recognition, why not nominate them for an award or medal at the MCA2016? You can even nominate yourself for some of the awards.

The Mechanical College Awards aim to identify, recognise and reward those in the mechanical engineering industry who strive for outstanding results, while showing a true passion for the practice of engineering and delivery of exceptional service.

Nominations are now open and will close on Thursday, 30 June. Main categories are:

Sir George Julius Medal

In memory of Sir George Julius, the medal is awarded to the author(s) of the publication in the field of mechanical engineering judged to be the best of those submitted for consideration.

Winners receive a bronze medal and certificate.

AGM Michell Medal

In honour of Anthony George Maldon Michell, this annual award is presented in recognition of outstanding service in the profession of mechanical engineering.

The recipient will receive a bronze medal and certificate, and is invited to give a presentation at an appropriate event on a topic of their choice – this will later be published in the Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering.

Young Mechanical Engineer of the Year Award

This award is presented by the Board of the College of Mechanical Engineers, recognising the contribution and achievement of a young professional, technologist, or associate in mechanical engineering.

For more information on each award and to submit your nominations, visit the Mechanical College website.

This article was originally published on